Getting your temporary
driver license can be one one of the most exciting events of your lifeespecially
for a teenager! Be certain to know the rules by reading the following
You must be at least 15 and 6 months to apply for a Temporary Instruction Permit Identification Card.
- Study and learn all material in the Digest of Ohio Motor Vehicles Laws.
- Visit any Ohio State Highway Patrol driver license examination station.
- Take a vision and knowledge test. No appointment is needed for this. There is no fee for the test.
- You must bring two documents that show proof of your name, date of birth and Social Security number if you have one. Refer to acceptable document page in the Digest.
- Answer a number of questions about your physical health.
- The examiner may take your photograph.
- You must pass the knowledge test with at least 75%.
- After you have successfully passed your vision and knowledge exams, you will obtain a receipt with a confirmation number to present at the deputy registrar agency (BMV) to obtain your Temporary Instruction Permit Identification Card (TIPIC). There is a fee for the TIPIC.
- You must bring two documents that verify your name, date of birth and Social Security number if you have one.
- After verifying your acceptable documents and your photo image, the deputy will proceed with the issuance of your TIPIC. This TIPIC must be on your person during each step of the licensing process
- If you are under 18 years of age your application must be co-signed by a parent or legal guardian at the time you apply.
- The co-signer must also present two forms of acceptable documents.
- The co-signer must accompany any applicant who is under 18 years of age to the deputy registrar agency.
- The TIPIC authorizes you to practice for your skills on the street.
- When driving on the TIPIC you must be with a licensed driver age 21 or older if you are 16 or older.
- If you are under age 16 you can only drive with a parent, legal guardian or certified driving instructor.
- The Temporary Instruction Permit Identification Card will expire one year from the date of issuance.
- The TIPIC must be held for six months before you can take the on road test if you are under age 18.
- Seat belts must be used by all occupants when driving on a TIPIC.
- No driving between midnight and 6:00 am unless with a parent or guardian if age 16. No driving between 1:00 am and 5:00 a.m. if age 17 unless with a parent or guardian..
visit the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles website.